Scrounging During Exams

This blog has had a bit of an unconventional start.

Expect to see drool-worthy food, traveling adventures, and outdoor excursions.

Why do you not get to see these things yet? Well, unfortunately for both of us, this is all I’m seeing right now.

She’s a beast.

You do not want to be her friend.

Tomorrow,  by 7pm,  we’re going to be toight,  me and her.  Commence full body shiver.

I’m also seeing this.

You are correct in assuming that this is my pitiful fridge. Contents?

– Copious amounts of sriracha hot sauce

Hilary‘s ancient veggie broth

– 4 leaves shy of a handful of spinach

– 4 runt carrots, bagged with a half yam

– tin foil containing a cubic centimetre of old cheddar

– mystery Hilary leftovers (a no-go)

– cilantro remnants

This is what I will be deriving sustenance from for the coming three days. This, in addition to pantry basics.

You’ll be happy to note that this morning I also had an egg and some milkish stuff.

Over the next couple of days, I plan on showing you what kinds of magic I’m able to do (or fail at doing) with scarce resources.

expect pancakes. soon to be vegan pancakes.

Banana pancakes were lucky enough to grace my wobbly scratched-up IKEA dining table/desk this morning.  They were way better than the alternative of uninspired oats and RRSP deduction limits. Yay Tax.

Of course I’ll share 🙂

Basic Banana Pancakes for Two-ish

Adapted from Annie’s Eats

2 tbsp. oil , plus pan greasage
3/4 cup all-purpose flour (I mixed in some sorghum, random, yes)
1 tbsp. brown sugar
1 ¼ tsp. baking powder
pinch o salt
half ripe banana, mashed
½ cup milk (I used almond milk)
1 large egg
¼ tsp. vanilla extract

Mix your dry (from flour-salt) in a medium bowl.  Mix your wet (oil, banan, milkish thing, egg, vanil).  Add wet to dry. Give er til just combined. Pour em’ on an oiled griddle/pan at medium heat like you would any lovely pancake creation.

 

 

I topped my little procrastination offspring with a stolen skiff of pb (I love you Alex), half a banan, and some organic strawb jam. WOO.

 

I gave Nat‘s brother Ian the neglected and mildly burnt ones. Haha Ian.

 

I’ll keep you guys posted with more iffy exam food, just to hold you over, until I become a real blogger.

 

B
4 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Food

4 responses to “Scrounging During Exams

  1. Mom

    I am trying very hard to just leave this be…it is what you’re supposed to experience, right? I am glad you are so innovative and wish you luck but call me before you starve, okay? Re: Taxes…just do it! You’ll be a better (more enlightened) person because of it. knowing more about the one of the two guarantees of life is a great thing! (not trying to write like Martha speaks)

  2. Excellent post thanks for sharing. Food is something I can enjoy all around. If I’m not eating it. I’m reading and looking at pictures about it.

    Rise n Shine Eggs – Breakfast Recipe

  3. Pingback: The Long Road Home: Part II | b out there

Tell me what you think!

