Bake that Breakfast.

If you don’t know with certainty, at this point, that I’m into food… it’s safe to say you’re not the sharpest tool in the shed.

Not like this guy

What you may (or may not) have caught onto yet, is that I’m BEYOND into breakfast.

If it were convenient, if it were nutritionally balanced, and if I wasn’t the only one who felt this way, every meal would be breakfast.

I sometimes get excited when I don’t have any food in my pantry, just because it results in my forced pancake making.

By “sometimes” I mean always. Duh.

Withhold judgement.

Pancakes are the bomb-diggity, don’t get me wrong, and oatmeal is the most fabulous staple… but lately I’ve been cheating on these regular brekkies with something a bit more exciting.

A bit more alluring.

A bit more…. Yes, I know, I bring the drama… it’s as though my choice in breakfast determines the fate of the world.

Well it does.

My world

And you know what rocked it? (moment of respect for poor humour) This Baby.

Breakfast Bakes.  They are like a cake. For breakfast.  Made in less than two minutes.  In the microwave. Yeah. These fella’s are packed with goodness. Like all kinds of goodness.  Like your mom says “how many grams of omega-3’s?!” goodness. You guys know I’m aaall about the goodness. The breakfast bakes are super customizable.  I’m all over the banana or pumpkin varieties… but berries… other junk.. it’s all good.  Yeah chocolate too, no one’s lookin.   These breakfast bakes originated with Ashley from The Edible Perspective.  She is genius.

These spread like wildfire.

Please make them.

They will cure your post-canadian election blues if you’re a leftie (for at least 30 minutes).

If you aren’t a leftie, you’re still welcome to have an awesome breakfast.. I guess 😉

Even journalists attempting, or not attempting, to be bipartisan should make this.

Yes Hilary, you should make this.

(I love photographs of eggs, don’t know why, they just seem so serene)

Breakfast Bake

adapted from Ashley

1/4c whole grain flour (I ground red river cracked wheat/rye because sometimes I’m a hippy)
2T almond milk (or whatever milk floats your boat, but beware of creepy hormones and things)
1/2-1t cinnamon
1/2T vanilla
2/3’s of a banana (I like mine uber banana-y, this can be subbed for 1/4c of pumpkin, yum)
1/4t baking powder
1 egg white
1T chia seeds

1) In a microwave safe dish, I used a pyrex glass bowl, whisk the egg white (could replace with chia/flax egg for vegan styles), mashed banana, vanilla, and milkishthing

2) Add the rest of the junk (dry ingredients) and any other mix-ins you fancy.. like fresh/frozen fruit, blueberries would be good. mmm. blueberries. or nuts. or whatever. I put dried figs in mine. Yeah, figs. Whatever.

3) Microwave for about 1 min 45 sec. Then extract from bowl and insert in mouth. Or something less graphic.

This is a certified M-friendly recipe. I think I’m going to have to add this as a blog category.  M has ACTUALLY requested this at breakfast at this point.  This is huge my friends. Scored insane sister points.  You know it’s good when…

10 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Food, M

10 responses to “Bake that Breakfast.

  1. thesavvystudent

    This looks great! Such a good idea…I will definitely be trying these soon!

    Thanks for the post!

  2. Stephanie

    WE GONNA MAKE THESE WITH GLUTEN FREE DELICIOUSNESS WOMAN!

    • YEAH Steph! Tell me how they turn out! Ashley (below) makes them with buckwheat typically! grinds em up good and then add’s some of the whole groats. I’ve done it before. It’s super.

  3. Oh my goodness. This post just made my night!! Your bake looks outstanding and your brother is ADorable!!! It makes me giddy inside that little kids are ASKing for buckwheat bakes for breakfast. 🙂

    • Excellent. Safe to say at this point we’ve made eachother’s nights :). Because your breakfast bakes make my morning… for real… and his too.. so I had to balance the karma. Obviously. This kid won’t eat organic alphabets in his soup because they are a “new food group” and he’s “nervous about it”. So.. you really deserve the praise!

  4. Pingback: Peanut butter apple breakfast bake «

  5. Amanda

    So me and Ariel just finished creeping and this looks sooo soooo delicis mmmmm all we want is fruit and you to make us food again!!!! Hope Yukon is amazing miss you xo!!!!!

  6. Pingback: Spiced Pillows of Pumpkin | b out there

Tell me what you think!

