In Good Company

I have friends.

Surprised?

Don’t answer that.

Yes, I know you know Nansen is my friend.  But there are others.  You probably know Colin and Logan are also my friends. Okay, but still, there are more!

Females even!

And no, even though I include my mother in this category, I wasn’t referring to her.  Thanks for that.

In order to keep my friends, I do things with them.  I run with them.  No one can say no to a conversation when you’ve already run 6km in one direction.  Even if they turned on a dime, they would have to bear my presence for another 6km. HA.

Running begats endorphins.  Endorphins begat happiness.

Some people mistake general happiness for feelings of friendship.  That is how Brittany’s friendships are born.

That and food.

I try, at times, to reward people who have persevered my friendship with food. I hope food makes up for lack of skype communication at school and consistently planning friend-dates around athletic activities. I hope it also makes up for all of those friend-hugs I’ve given while wearing not-so-fresh workout gear.

I think it works just fine for Coralie.  She hasn’t complained.  Then again, she’s one of those really awesome people who will tell you if you have an unsightly booger, but not complain about your sweaty hug.  Those are the best kind of people.

Those people get invited over for Mother’s Day dinner when their mothers are out of the territory. They can share my mother :). Temporarily.

Coralie and her lovely father Tom were in charge of appetizers. I was told that Tom makes mean appies.

Holy Cheeses. Yum.

I went for a modest and healthful dinner.  I was feeding runners. Muscles like chickpeas right? Whatever, I like chickpeas.

Ok, so I made this Lemon-infused chicken and chickpea stirfry.  It was full of awesome, which left room for a dessert.

An equally healthful dessert.

The anti-oxidants in blueberries make up for the 1/2 cup of sugar I added…. which leaves nothing to make up for the butter in the pastry crust.. or the decadent cream cheese layer. What am I saying, the deliciousness makes up for it.  We’re runners. Immune to butter.

At least that’s how I get to sleep at night.

Or is this how I get to sleep at night?

Jokes.

Enough with the jokes. I’m sorry.  You want to know how to make this deliciousness. Well it’s ridiculously easy. Galettes are my go-to dessert if I’ve got fruit, time constraints, and people to please.

Also.. Yes my mother has a fancy scale.. so I can make european recipes with grams. Which are better. Feel patronized, feel very patronized

Blueberry Galette

Pastry:

250g of flour

3tbs sugar

1/2tsp salt

140g chilled butter

1 egg yolk (reserve white for egg wash)

3 tbs cold water

zest of a lemon

Mix dry ingredients together in a large bowl. Combine the butter with the dry ingredients with your fingertips, until it resembles course sand.  You can do it. I trust you.  Add the zest, egg yolk, and water and mix it all in with your hands.  At this point you will feel both professional and domestic. Roll the dough into a ball, and chill it in the fridge for just over a half hour.

Filling:

3 cups blueberries (I used frozen wild organic)

2 Tbs corn starch

1 Tbs lemon zest

1Tbs lemon juice

1/4tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup sugar + some for sprinkling


Cream Cheese Layer:

4oz. Cream cheese

1Tbs icing sugar

5 or so shakes of lemon juice

Once you dough is nice and chilled, roll it out into an approximate roundish circley shape… maybe 1/2cm thick… use your own judgement.  Preheat your oven to 400°C. Stir together all of the blueberry filling ingredients. Mix (in a separate bowl) the cream cheese layer ingredients. Lather on your cream cheese layer, leaving a 1.5 inch border approx.

Spread out as much blueberry filling as you’re into ontop of the cream cheese.  I had likely a cup left (use it for other fun things, or make another pastry crust).  Fold the edges over the filling.  Make it look nice and rustic.  It’s not hard. The funkier the edges the better. Brush the crust with the left over egg white and sprinkle some sugar across the top. YES You are ready to toss it in the oven. It will be hard, but you’ll have to wait 20-30 minutes before taking it out.  It’ll be nice n hot. try n let it cool. then Eat it.

You can eat it for a post work pre-running snack the next day. Just as good the next day.

Prepare for infinite galette fruit combinations throughout the summer.  MMM seasonal fruit. Are you as freakin stoked as I am?

I hope you’re stoked Coralie. Because you know this isn’t the last galette we’ll share 😉

6 Comments

Filed under Dessert, Food, Friends

6 responses to “In Good Company

  1. Coralie Ullyett

    Britt,
    I am stoked on so many levels right now.
    One because I have been featured in my first blog. And a Britt Pearson-Smith blog which makes it that much more stellar! Second, that I can say I have sampled all of these foods featured on your blog post and cannot wait to make my own galette for YOU to try. And third, this post like all of the other ones have provided so much laughter. Especially loved the comment on the wine pouring picture of it putting you to sleep. You may have joked about this but I went to bed at an oddly early hour that evening…

  2. Mom

    Is “beget” the present tense and “begat” the past tense? Hunh? (I threw the “n” in because I wanted the nasal sound).

  3. Emily

    Brit! This is awesome! The perfect harmony of satire and cooking. excellent women! Quite enjoying creeping your blog right now!

Tell me what you think!

