Pizza for Breakfast

You might think, “Wow, girl has fallen off the wagon.  Clearly she spent one too many nights out, went on some late night pizza-ordering kicks, and thought her cold leftover pizza was worthy of the interwebs.”

No. Please. I know I told you to lower your expectations, but I would never do that to you. I care.

Also I’m a ninny and never have too much night-time fun to avoid making a complete breakfast.

Ever.

The wildest night I had this weekend involved a late night batch of chocolate chip cookies and a group of my mom’s co-workers in my dining room.

By late night I mean ten.

It was out of control.

Hey, withhold your pity.  I’ll be more wild this week.

I’m thinking veggie-burger making party, or maybe some evening Bakugan battle brawls?

Regardless of what illicit activity I decide to partake in, I will be fresh enough in the morning to recreate this.

This was my second breakfast.

The first was insufficient. I’m an eater.

This was cool.  Portable, customizeable, and suitable for many uses.

It’s like an iphone.. for breakfast.. or second breakfast.. and dessert.

M can attest to this tasting better than an iphone.

He ran over to his father and whispered in his ear so quietly that I could barely (but still completely and easily) make out what he was saying (from 10m away). “It’s really good”

*runs away*

*runs back*

“REALLY Super good.  Don’t tell Brittany.”

Proud sister moment.  Naturally, he held perfect composure and did not let on that he was enamored with my creation.

I’m not even going to play at modesty with this one. Make it now. It was perfect. You could do like, fifty-two and infinity different things with it. (M’s favourite number). Please do. And then tell me about it.  And then tell Angela, because she was the original master genius mind creator.

Mango Breakfast Pizza

Adapted from Oh She Glows

  • 2 cups spelt flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup organic butter (slightly warmed)
  • 2 tbs brown sugar
  • 2 tbs white sugar
  • 1/2 cup soy milk (other other milk)
  • 1/4 cup jam
  • 1/4 cup cream cheese
  • 1 mango, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup sweetened shredded coconut
  • As much peanut butter as it takes to float your boat

Preheat oven to 400. Oil a full-size spring form pan (9in I believe). Mix together the (1st three) dry ingredients in a large bowl with the sugars. Pour in milk and softened butter. Mix together to form a dough. I used my hands, it was fun. Use your hands again and press dough evenly into the bottom of the spring form. Mix together jam and cream cheese and spread over crust, I reserved some because I wanted an exposed crust. Arrange your mango sliced over top and sprinkle with coconut.  Throw that baby in the oven for about 25 minutes.  When she’s done and cool, drizzle peanut butter across the top (or pipe with a piping bag if you suffer from some sort of neuroses like I do).

Don’t be afraid of the refrigerator, she’s good cold. Or eat it until it disappears. Your pick.

5 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Food

5 responses to “Pizza for Breakfast

  1. Now if you only show me how to make breakfast-appropriate pasta I’m sold.

  2. This is fantastic! I came over via Foodgawker, and am blown away by the creativity that went into making this breakfast pizza. I am going to have to make it sometime soon :).

  3. Freya

    You inspire me.

Tell me what you think!

