It’s his party and he’ll cry if he wants to

You would cry too if this happened tooooooo you..

STAR WARS

traumatizing, I know… your sister toiled away in the kitchen until 1:30 AM the previous night while constructing your perfect Darth Vader  birthday cake, detailed in chocolate buttercream. Life sucks for you.  You should cry.  You should especially cry if your friend hit you in the head with a soccer ball.

Come ON M.  You of all people should know that Star Wars cures all woes.

Ah whatever, it’s your party.  You’ll appreciate me one day.

Despite the tears, the party was still off the hook.  You should all be envious.  M turned 5 (On June 9th… this post is way late).  That’s half of ten.

I don’t think I need to tell you all that half of ten is a huge deal.

When you’re half of ten, you have to play soccer in your backyard.

Or cry inside while you eat a hotdog, and your friends who have already eaten their hotdogs play outside.

It’s ok, your friends (and uncle) will still have fun.

They might even have collisions with their brothers. 

They might even cry too.  Just to make you feel better.

It’s ok though, because when you’re half of ten, you come back from tears with a vengeance.  And often with light sabers (un-photographed).

When you’re half of ten, you likely will not have noticed the delicious caprese skewers that your sister made.

Or the Avocado Citrus Salad.

Or the fruit galettes. Definitely not the raspberry one that your sister meticulously shaped into a heart.

Or the rest of the dinner really. I mean come on… you had a cocktail weiner in a mini bun.

The rest of dinner (pictured on your sister’s lap) didn’t live up to your sophistique. Regardless of how much effort it required.

You’re half of ten though, I know you enjoyed your birthday cake.

You Enjoyed blowing out the candles.

You enjoyed eating it.

You enjoyed it nearly as much as Larry did.  This is Larry.  He’s a-freaking-dorable, but this post is about M so I’ll just throw all of the Larry photos down in one go.

Anyways M, you may not have run up to me and sung me praises for being the greatest sister, who made the greatest cake, and the greatest salad, and bought you the greatest ukelele that you love, and who you will never be able to replace.

BUT, I guess that’s not really what I was looking for…. I guess.

I guess I just love you anyway… so that why I did it. I guess.

And I don’t need to worry.

One day, when you are thirty, and a famous actor, you’ll look back through the archives of my blog… realize how much I love you.. and buy me a penthouse in Santa Monica, because you love me too.

But like I said… I guess I’ll just love you anyway.

And if you really are looking back on this, and are jealous of all of the delicious food that you didn’t try on your fifth birthday, but that lovely house guests like Ziggy got to try…

I’ll tell you some of the Recipes that I used:

Avocado Citrus Salad

Raspberry Buttermilk Cake

Vanilla Buttercream Icing

Chocolate Buttercream Icing (best.)

Happy Birthday again M. I love you eh.

10 Comments

Filed under Dessert, Family, Food, M

10 responses to “It’s his party and he’ll cry if he wants to

  1. smum

    Love it , love it, love it! Wish we could have been there, especiall the boys to play soccer, me, well I am all about that cake!

  2. I came here via Alex W.’s Twitter. Great post! What a fun balance of story, humor, and food. Thumbs up!

  3. That is one amazing cake, amazing menu, and awesome birthday you threw there. I am super, super impressed- and also I love your scarf. This is Kate from Sweet Ridge Sisters. Colleen wants me to tell you she loves your blog and you should check out some of her running posts if you get a chance. Have a great day!

    • I’ll have to definitely check out the running posts, and thank you for the kind words! That’s actually my friend Ziggy with the lovely scarf 🙂 but I’m sure she’ll appreciate the compliment! So happy you found my quirky piece of interweb.

  4. LARRY. STEAL HIM FOR ME.

  5. Mom

    This was the funniest yet….Ilario can also look back and source you as the Larry instigator. He really is the cutest (2.5 year old)!!! Had to qualify in case Mathias is reading your posts.

  6. Coralie Ullyett

    I love Larry.
    That is all.

Tell me what you think!

