How to show them you care

So shortly before I left my homeland, I faced an obstacle.

How do you say “Happy Birthday”, “Goodbye”, “I know you so well it’s retarded”, “Please don’t forget how super I am”, “I wanna try to make you fat one last time”, and “I love you” all in a portable confection?

I’m pretty sure everyone comes across this dilemma a few times in their twenties. Yeah?

You know, when there’s someone kinda special who you might not see for kinda a long time.

You know, someone who’s always doing extra nice things for you.  Such nice things that you kinda want to flip out at them for being so dang nice cause it kinda totally makes you feel bad for not being equally as awesome and nice… which leads you to start constantly plotting evil schemes in which you can throw painful amounts of niceness back at them.

Yeah that someone.

BUT, you can’t just be all cutesy and overly mushy-girly-lovey-dovey-nice, because … ew. That ruins the mystique right. I’m not a softie.

You all know what I mean.

Plus.. knowing that someone… if you did something toooooo nice… their head would for sure expand to the size of your mothers’ new walk-in closet that you weren’t allowed to have. Ugh.

But at the same time, you totally know that that someone special deserves something that is undeniably fantasmigoracle.

EVEN if it means working through lunch and ducking out of a meeting early (you know how we all hate missing budget meetings).

Don’t worry, I figured it out for you.

I knew you were wondering.

I’ll tell you about it.

Bake them these.

Do other things for them too mind you, like hand-draw them a card with animated food on it, but definitely, definitely bake them these.

Especially if they’re a boy.

These may be the most magical and moist cupcakes to enter my life, ever.  They’ve gotten rave reviews at How Sweet It Is.  If I trust anything to feed to boys, It’s the stuff that gal makes.

There’s just something about chocolate and peanut butter.

They go together like…. I don’t know… two… really, really, ridiculously good-looking people or something.

Hot Fudge Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Buttercream

from How Sweet It Is 

Cupcakes:

  • 1 1/8 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup (fair trade if you’re nice) cocoa powder
  • 1 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 (organic free-range) egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup organic milk
  • 1/2 cup + 1 tablespoon heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup melted organic butter
  • 2 Tbs sour cream
  • 1/4 cup homemade hot fudge sauce

Hot Fudge Sauce:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup (fair trade) cocoa powder
  • 2 Tbs flour
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 cup boiling water
  • 1 Tbs butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Make the hot fudge sauce first s’il vous plait. Combine sugar, cocoa, salt, and flour in a bowl over a double boiler. Bring water to a boil. Gradually add hot water to sugar mixture. Stir constantly until mixture thickens to your desired thickness. Then remove from heat and stir in the butter and vanilla. (use remaining from recipe to drizzle over cupcakes, then store the rest in the fridge for your family to eat after you’ve left *tear*)

For the cupcakes:  Preheat oven to 350. In a medium bowl whisk egg and sugar until smooth, then add milk, cream, butter, vanilla, and sour cream.  Sift together the dry ingredients and add to wet.  Mix until smooth.  Swirl in the hot fudge.  I tried to make pretty swirls. Not that it matters.  Line a muffin tin with liners.. trust me.. I didn’t.. but these baby’s are moist and I don’t want to put you through my stress.  Add 1/4 batter to each tin and bake for 15-18 ish minutes, and please let cool before you frost these. Nobody likes their frosting to escape down the side of their cupcake.

Peanut Butter Buttercream:

  • 1/2 cup softened butter
  • 2/3 cup very smooth natural peanut butter
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 Tbs (or more) milk
  • pinch of salt

Cream butter and peanut butter together with your electric mixer.  Slowly add powdered sugar bit by bit.  If you are indeed using all natural peanut butter, It’ll get super thick, do not fear, there is hope for your buttercream.  Add vanilla and then milk a tsp at a time until you reach your perfect piping consistency.  I probably added 5 or more Tbs of milk.. but I didn’t have very liquidy pb.

FROST AWAY.

I think your somebody will like these.

Mine did.

This much.

If you want them to keep on remembering you while they drive away… put some in individual paper cups 🙂 they fit nicely in cupholders.

Happy Belated Birthday Post Sam, and keep brushing your teeth, those cupcakes aren’t sugar free.

Elephant Shoes

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Dessert, Food, Friends

4 responses to “How to show them you care

  1. Mom

    I was extremely happy to have been one of the privileged to eat one of these cupcakes – I am amazed he still left after eating one of those.

    Thanks for the recipe! Now I can use up the remaining hot fudge sauce in the fridge that someone left behind.

    Truly a lovely post! These would probably make good reuniting cupcakes too, I think…just sayin’.

  2. Freya

    Just made these. No big.

Tell me what you think!

