Resolutions and Muffins

I think every year really has two beginnings, the first one is in September.

Maybe it’s a student thing.  I have been a student for… as long as memory serves.

But it makes sense doesn’t it? I’d say September makes more sense than January.  Even if you aren’t one of  us, making ourselves start a new school year.

All else equal, September marks a distinct change in season.

We’re right on the cusp in September.

It’s time to make the best of the last trickle of warmth, and put on your big boy pants – prepare for change.  Nobody wants the winter to get us down, we want things to look forward to.

We want motivation.  It’s not about just surviving the new seasons.  It’s about showing them who’s boss.  We aren’t pansies, cooler temps won’t get us down.

Time to toughen up and turn over a new leaf. (er… loaf.. ha… ha)

(ok so, it’s easy for me to blog about being hard-as-nails. I’m blogging in a hammock.  Beside a sunflower.  It’s 25°C , sunny, there’s a gentle breeze … I’m like Iron Man… so.. tough)

ALSO: more proof that September should be the New Year, “new leaf”? Right? Fall?

Yeah.

Anyways,  I know you.  You’ve all been subconsciously milling over the things that you were going to make happen come September for the last… probably month or so. How organized you’ll be.  How you’re going to actually do your suggested readings ahead of time (Good one guys).  How you (or your whole family) are going to eat so healthily that there won’t be any spinach left at superstore for all of those other  healthily optimistic families.  How you’re going to get Ryan-Reynolds-jacked. Yeah you.  Don’t worry, I’m not saying you won’t.  Maybe, how frugal you’ll be.  And yet, somehow, how damn fashionable you’ll be while you’re being frugal?? Bonus points for resolutions that contradict each other.  Those ones always pan out.

I’m a huge resolutioner, so obviously September is my time to shine.

I write lists on my ipad.

But I’m a sharer, so here are a few of mine:

– Buy all of my produce at the Sunday farmers market until the end of growing season.  Unless recipe emergency dictates otherwise. (Let’s not set ourselves up for disappointment here)

– Stick to ethically sourced meat until I go ex-pat to France.  Then I’ve gotta be flexible.

– As soon as the sun goes down, the fruit-gummy-vitamin-D goes up.

– Play my guitar. Every. Day. In fact, in order to hold myself to this, I will force myself to share my non-skills with you via video by the end of November. Incentive to not be a failure and an embarrassment, hopefully only an embarrassment. Remind me.

– DO NOT BUY A STITCH OF CLOTHING. except for 1 perfect amazing gorgeous dress for our winter charity ball. And I hereby do not forbid myself from buying socks.. or underwear.. just if you were worried

– Don’t stop running fast

– Listen to French podcasts, Day of reckoning in: T- 135.. ish, best be prepared

– Volunteer for NFPs involved in sustainability. Yay Hippies

– Keep connected to the people I love

– Blog 3 days a week. This one’s for you guys. Told you I was spreadin’ the love

– Drink Wine (preparation for France)

– Drink Water (compensation for preparation for France)

– Floss (had to.)

So obviously the first one’s been no heartache.  Farmers markets. I even made something to show you how hard they’ve been to deal with.


They’re pretty healthy. Ooops.

And made with local currants, which are pretty, shiny, and tart. :-).  I made them with whole spelt flour and regular, which makes them hearty as heck, but feel free to use whichever flour arrangement (haha punny)  tickles your fancy.

Red Currant Banana Muffins

  • 2 Ripe bananas
  • 1/4 cup melted (organic) butter
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 (organic) egg
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 cups spelt flour
  • 3/4 AP flour
  • heaping 1/2 cup red currants

Preheat oven to 350. In a large bowl, mash together melted butter, banana and sugar, followed by the egg.  Sprinkle in the remaining dry ingredients and lightly mix, then fold in the currants until the batter is just mixed.

Pour batter into greased muffin tins and bake for 20 or so minutes, depending on your oven, and your flours.  Watch them muffins.

What are your september resolutions? Please, I’m nosy.

Oh P.S. During the painful time I had fulfilling resolution #1, I ate a personal sized brie and arugula wood-fired pizza.

The wood-fired-pizza man doesn’t understand food blogging. I see judgement in those eyes.

10 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Food

10 responses to “Resolutions and Muffins

  1. Steph

    I think this is one of my favourites so far!

  2. Mom

    1. Try not to put regular mom-type comments on my daughter’s blog and/or facebook aka Be Stealth Mom (aka Let Hilary Be First).

  3. Great organic stuff. Tomatoes has really proven a wondrous resolution for many ailments. I love all features on this blog.

  4. reso #1: get a job so as to not be in the negatives
    reso #2: get over my fear of people judging me in the gym/ actually go to the gym around 5 days a week
    reso #3: (this might be a bit too much…but…) meet/talk to one new person a day. (when else in my life will i be able to do this if not in university with 46,000 people?!)
    reso #4: make a recipe from this blog. even if it’s just one…ill be proud of myself. its a lot of effort in my mind
    reso #5: take my fishoils and vitamin D everyday (lord knows ill need em’ in this weather)

    your blogs make my day. and i love you.

  5. Pingback: Whole-wheat strawberry and peach muffins (and my decision to finally cook for myself, and not for the blog) «

  6. Freya

    Okay, okay, confession time. You called me out on ALL of my resolutions; clearly I am entirely unoriginal. I’ll get over it, it’s okay.
    But seriously now…
    It really IS my goal to, you know, be frugal… whilst still looking fashionable.
    Also, I really DO want to eat my greens… and create ridiculously delicious yet healthy meals.
    Possibly read assigned texts before the date that they are supposed to be read… same goes for essays.. tests… while still having time to have awesome dance-bake-run-sing-fun parties with my fabulous roommates.
    Okay, and they are all slightly contradictory, but I will achieve all these things. Mwahaha.
    Oh, and train (Brittamon, I choose you).

  7. Coralie Ullyett

    Britt!
    I am loving all of these beautiful, fresh, colourful farmers market food pictures! As for resolutions. Let me think! Maybe, survive this coming academic year!?

Tell me what you think!

