Back to learning type things – roasted tomato pesto

School started, like.. over a week ago.

I’m glad that “get all of your readings done before class” resolution wasn’t mine, because I’d be mighty down on myself already.  In fact, shamefully, the learning I’ve done in the last couple weeks is approx. 0% class related.  shame.

shame.

I’ll pretend I know what’s going on until I bite the bullet and dive head first into my studies like the nerd we all know I am. Really, I am.  You might not know it by what I’ve learned this week:

– Brittany should never. NEVER. read novels for pleasure.  Her life will make zero progression whilst the book remains unfinished.  And by book I mean trilogy.  And by trilogy I obviously mean the hunger games trilogy.  And by “whilst the book remains unfinished” I mean 4 days.  4 days for the hunger games trilogy.  Did you think I was taking notes on my iPad while sitting in the interdisciplinary science lecture? HA, Hunger Games.  Did you think my diligent self was marking down the millions of mentioned due dates in Advanced Mgmt Accounting and Control? HA, Hunger Games.

– Brittany likes to dream about being a valiant hero fighting against civil inequities in a dystopian future… when she should be writing her passport application.  Again, don’t let her read for pleasure.

– Sitting in one’s hammock with your computer never leads to productivity.  Only to a computer lying on the ground beside the hammock, and a Brittany asleep. EVERYTIME.  Don’t think next time’s going to be different.  It’s not. Same with hammock and an iPad.  OR hammock and a text book.  Hammock and the hunger games however, leads to five hours mysteriously vanishing from life.

– Half of a glass of wine is enough for some people. me.

– OH and Even if you don’t drink like EVER, you should probably have more booze in your house than cooking wine.  Just in case.  You need more than ice cubes to turn pee into apple juice folks. Take that as you will.

– Chocolate mousse makes Brit loopy.  You’ll learn about it soon. Nobody needs wine.  Just chocolate.

–  Apparently my 17 year old celebrity double is Saoirse Ronan


Yes, that’s my old passport photo.

– You CAN visit the same gelato shop every second day and not feel weird.  It takes confidence.  And nice gelato shop owners who pretend that they don’t obviously recognize you by now and that they don’t know that you have a soft spot for hazelnut.

– Writing all of your due dates and tasks in your iCal makes you feel better.  Like you’ve already done them or something.  Do it.

– Don’t be afraid to cry when people die in your novel.  No one’s watching.  Remember?  you haven’t seen people for days.

– All of a sudden, if you don’t do anything for a long time… your monday schedule starts looking scarier than Hilary when she realizes she has two dozen cupcakes left to frost and insufficient patience.

– It looks to the blog public that the only non carb-based food I eat is pesto.  I swear, I don’t survive on pancakes and pesto.

could.

but don’t. If there is reason for my pesto-friendliness, it’s this recipe.  And roasted tomatoes.  I didn’t know I was allowed to put them in pesto but I am. That means you are too.  And you should, it’s like… a whole nother level man.

k I won’t call you man, with one condition: Make this pesto.

Roasted Tomato Pesto

adapted from Oh She Glows

  • A whole container of cherry tomatoes, sliced in half lengthwise
  • 1/4 cup almonds, toasted
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1/2 cup tightly packed basil
  • 2 Tbs Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 2 Tbs freshly grated parmesan reggiano
  • Kosher salt & black pepper
  • (Quinoa) Pasta!

Preheat oven to 400°F.  Place tomatoes on lined baking sheet and drizzle with some oil, S&P. Roast away for near an hour.  Just watch em.  When they’re done and out, reduce the heat to 325°F and roast the almonds on a baking sheet for 8-ish minutes.

Put just over half of the almonds into you food processor (I used a magic bullet, but it causes more challenges).  From here, I processed in the basil and the garlic.  Add the EVOO, the parm, and most of the tomatoes (saving just enough to toss in with the pasta).  Season with salt and pepper to taste and toss desired amount with pasta and the rest of your tomatoes and almonds! Hurrah! (I only use exclamation points after recipes, I realized).  This made enough pesto for multiple (3 or so) servings, but enough extra tomatoes etc. for only my first serving.  Use that info as you wish.

7 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Food

7 responses to “Back to learning type things – roasted tomato pesto

  1. Freya

    i may make this tonight… probability high.

  2. I like all sorts of roasted veggies, this post really made me laugh too = )

  3. Mom

    Hmmm…is it just me or are you writing all disjointedly perhaps on account of you being so obsessed with leisure reading? Maybe I’m tired. It bothers me when you do that with your eyes – hasn’t your mother ever told you not to do that? They might stay that way!

    Hey check out these sites – wanna be on a team? We want to do a team…come with us!!!
    http://www.canadiandeathrace.com/news
    http://www.sinister7.com/
    Love xoxxoxoxomomxoxoxoxo

    • Mom

      I see the bullets now…yes, it is a list…scanning too quickly…take back my disjointed comment. Like your acronym: EVOO!

      P.S. Maybe you can be her stunt double in a Bollywood hockey comedy?

  4. Love your blog! 🙂 cant wait to read more.
    I feel ya with the readings…before class? no way.

  5. prathap nair

    we are already making it tonight…let’s see how it turns out..will let you know..btw, naiice blog 🙂

Tell me what you think!

