Today is brought to you by the colour green.

I told you before that green is my favourite colour.

I love everything green.

My nails are green. Mint green.

Avocados are nature’s butter.  and they’re green.  Disregard the strangeness of this combination.  Some one suggested it to me.  It was good.  Also, they’re are green.

My favourite new pashmena that I bought brand new for $1 at a garage sale is green. Ya. $1.

My iPod is green.  Shiny and green.

My wicked California bed-shirt that I stole from my step-dad is green.

My shower gel is green.  It’s also made sustainably because it’s for “earth lovers” :-).  And it makes me smell like apricots, which smell nice.

My favourite placemat is also green.

Everyone has a favourite placemat. Shh..

My bedroom is green. and serene. and clean. and comfortable…een. sorry.

Ooooh, even my desk chair is green.  Yes, it is a desk chair.  Don’t discredit it, it already has self esteem issues.

Everything looks better when surrounded in green.  Even disgustingly cute couples.

Or salads that were already green.

Or even things that you think shouldn’t really be green.  I always think they should be green. And with merit.

Meet the green monster.  Except these ones don’t steal your boots (M), or hide in your closet. No.  These ones just taste deliciously amazing and YET fill you with healthful goodness.  Most of the things I eat on a regular basis actually do fill you with healthful goodness, I just always happen to save room for dessert.  Which is… most of the time… what you see on the blog.  AND I don’t see you complaining.

So this time it’s both.  It’s yummy but 100% dessert worthy. But mostly for breakfast, because breakfast is the most awesome meal of the day.

Green smoothies are all the rage with foodies.  I’ve been downing these like Duff downs cold glasses of milk for a couple of years now.  Secret: Spinach is neither tasted, nor felt in smoothies. True.  Non-secret: Spinach makes your body happy, you know with iron, vitamin A, vitamin K, manganese, antioxidants, carotenoids, lots of other junk.

You might as well have one, they taste like whatever you want them to.

This one tasted like vacation in Cabo.  And it went something like this

  • half banana, frozen
  • 1 cup-ish of frozen mango
  • as much spinach as you can squish into the magic bullet
  • Happy Planet Peach Mango something juice (enough to reach the spinach)
  • Whole food/protein powder if you swing that way

BLEND IT.

Fall’s a comin’ so show off your green-ness proudly before it’s gone. My Nana always did.  It was her favourite colour too. Maybe that’s why it’s mine.  Love you Nan. 😉

10 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Food, Mundane Shenanigans

10 responses to “Today is brought to you by the colour green.

  1. Ooh, I just looooved this post! I totally agree…everything is better green! It’s the colour of life!

    And the smoothie looks divine!

  2. I’m green with envy 🙂 I have to try this smoothie.
    Just came from tastespotting. Nice blog and great pictures!

  3. Coralie Ullyett

    I say you can’t try enough things in life so when I came across the strange avocado combination I just had to try it! Wasn’t too bad.

  4. D

    Hey B,
    I love your blog, and I am going to be checking back. I might even try one of your recipes, provided it isn’t unreasonably healthy. 🙂
    Have a good night,
    D

  5. rali

    May I ask who that guitarist is on your wall poster?

Tell me what you think!

