Happy Shayla’s Old Day! – carrot coconut soup

So another one of my cousins is having a birthday.

Why do they keep aging you ask?

Who knows.  I know I’m not aging.  That would be gross.

See this time it’s Shayla’s birthday. The least dramatic of the cousins. I don’t know if the font conveyed the sarcasm..

Hi Shayla :-). Time to learn about you.

Shayla obviously likes to abuse animals, but it’s ok, because they like to abuse her too.  Also Shayla’s cute.  All blonde n petite n junk.  Boys were chasin’ her before I knew what a training bra was. I didn’t mind, I was busy either skiing or being a nerd.  Also, she was totally one of those girls whose hair looked like it never got tangled somehow because it was all smooth and straight.

Shay, if you weren’t super, I woulda been hatin’. Stupid tangly wavy reddish hair of mine.

BUT unlike other girls who had smooth non-tangly looking hair and never came to school without socks, Shayla was legit nice to me.  IN PUBLIC. Even would walk down the hallway with me in elementary school.  Elementary school was not  my prime.  Walking down the hallway with a non-scruffy and actually cute cousin = big deal for me.  You the bomb Shay.  Always making me feel loved.  Even if I forgot my socks, again. (Here’s when I start singing that “I wish.. that.. I knew what I know now… When I was younger..” song.  Wear socks Britt)

So, here’s to being my friend while I was at my least-cool!

So what’d I do for the girl on her birthday?

A cake right?

HA. wrong.  a vegetable-y soup.

with a sneaky hornet

You see, a couple of days ago Shayla told me that she was under the weather. Fortunately for her, I’m under the weather! Yay! Under the weather for four weeks and counting… not the point… not Brittany whine time.  Shayla time.

I love Shayla.

I text her when our grandma’s dog eats my best underwear. again. through two closed doors (WTF?!?!). She texts me when she finds creepy things with bajillions of creepy legs in her house.. in Victoria.  I try to help her.. from Ottawa. Unfortunately I can’t be the macho man that am on the inside and steal Shayla’s own shoe at her home in Victoria in order to squish her silverfish.

Plus she’s strong enough to do that herself.

She did, however, tweet me about her illness.  That I can at least attempt to sooth with my delicious pretend internet food that I share with my virtual friends.

Shayla.. I don’t know how your picky-ness is coming.. but this soup.. if you dared eat it.. would make you healthy.  SOO many good food things.  Also creamy and delicious.

Here’s to Twenty and a bowl of soup.

Carrot Coconut (and beet omg) Soup

adapted from Joy the Baker

 

  • hefty splash of olive oil
  • 1/2 medium onion
  • 1.5 Tbs minced fresh ginger
  • heaping 1/4 tsp coriander
  • 1.5 cups diced carrots
  • half a large beet! diced. Yeah I snuck that in, it’s yummy and dyes my innards.
  • 1.5-2 cups vegetable broth (depending on desired thickness)
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • S&P

Heat olive oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat, and saute onions once oil is hot.  Once onions are translucent and the ginger until nice n smelly, then add coriander and diced beet and carrots.  Add the veggie broth, and reduce to a simmer, covered, until the carrots are completely softened (30 mins ish).  Remove from heat and cool a bit, then blend!  I did this with a hand blender, but if you have a large one, use it!  After blending, return to the pot and add coconut milk and salt and pepper to taste.  Serve hot with delicious things that you can dip into it.  Ugh, the colour is awesome!! I love this soup. love love.

Oh and Shay, you’re not over the hill yet.

So don’t cry.

Unless it’s your party.. then you can cry if you want to.  ohi’mfunny.

Happy Shayla Day 🙂 I hope there were no spiders in your house, just for today.

4 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Family, Food

4 responses to “Happy Shayla’s Old Day! – carrot coconut soup

  1. Cynthia

    Love your blog B. Your so funny!

  2. This soup is CALLING MY NAME! I love beets too. Thanks for the recipe. Bookmarked!

  3. Pingback: CREAMY BEET SOUP « CARLY LOVES

Tell me what you think!

