Oh baby I’m Fallin’

Fast.

For Fall.

Finally.

For Fu ….. I’m going to stop that alliteration right here.  Nobody wants vulgar poetry.

But really, I have been waiting for months for this season. Like, probably, for two months. I’d say.

When I was still at home in August the weather was turning.  It smelled like leaves.  The days were getting shorter.  I stalked weatheroffice.com never saw a number bigger than my age in the forecast. That’s 20 for visitors.. fyi.  Also that’s Celsius for farther away visitors.. fyi.  Anyway, the dropping temps weren’t killing my spirits. I’m extra used to change.  I even started getting nostalgic.

Just a warning.. I get nostalgic about non normal people things.  Or like.. non south of 60° people things.

I’d go outside and my nose would run because it was chilly. (My nose is like a meteorologist)

I’d get giddy.

I’d see cranberries reddening between wilted leaves.

More giddy.

I’d break out the 3/4 length running tights.

Woah giddy.

Then I left Whitehorse and flew on down to Ontariario.

Hey there 35°C and humid. What.  Yeah.  I was alright with an extra week a vitamin D.  Of course. No complaints.

Snag some more tomaters from the farmers Market.  I’m not a whiner.  BUT, the whole not being able to sleep under my covers thing was a serious bummer.  I’m sure some of you are with me.  Gotta have the weight of the duvet, otherwise, insanity.  I thought this might last a week, then give way to fall.

No.

It lasted until 3 days ago.  Thats 4-ish weeks, brethren. 4-ish.

I am a cold weather animal.  Overheat me and I get all gross. Red. Blotchy. Salty. Ew.  Training was not pleasant.  I had a “no sitting on furniture after your run” rule. For myself only.  Nobody wants salt marks on their new futon cover.

So to the non-negative part.  About 3 days ago it became fall.

I ran with a long sleeve shirt and NO pit stains.

I slept comfortably UNDER my duvet.

I wore a freaking sweater.

I slipped on a rock covered in red and yellow maple leaves while running and nearly face-planted into the buttocks of the person running in front of me while twisting my ankle. No one saw.

It made me happy. It meant fall.

So I bought three cans of pumpkin and hit up bulk barn to stock up on spices.  Like all of the other twenty year olds. duh.

I might be pumpkinsane. I aalways tell people that there are a billion people just like me out there on the internet who hoard pumpkin and loose their shite for farmer’s markets and coconut butter. FOOD BLOGGERS.

Sure Britt, sure.  What ever helps you sleep under your duvet at night.

Whatever guys, don’t call me weird until you’ve had these pumpkin cinnamon rolls.

They’re extra soft because pumpkins contains traces of a very important ingredient called magic.  You should try it.  It worked wonders for Neville.  I know you were all wondering how he got so badass and good-looking.

Hey there Neville.

So make these pumpkin cinnamon rolls and maybe you’ll score a date with that stud.

Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls.

adapted from Love and Olive Oil

Dough:

  • 1/3 cup soymilk (or whatever kind of milk floats your boat)
  • 2 Tbs butter
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
  • 2 Tbs sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 large free range egg (beaten!)
  • 1 pkg active dry yeast
  • 1 cup AP flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat bread flour

Filling:

  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 Tbs melted butter
Icing:
  • brown sugar
  • butter
  • vanilla
  • icing sugar
  • soy milk

For dough, combine milk and butter in a saucepan on medium until butter is aaalmost melted.  Combine pumpkin, sugar, and salt in a large bowl and mix in butter/milk mixture. Beat in egg and yeast, and in a separate bowl whisk together the flours.  Incorporate half the flour mix with the pumpkin mix and beat until fully incorporated, lots of bowl scraping.  Add remaining flour mixture and mix/knead into a soft dough.  Put the dough into an oiled bowl and cover it at room temperature for an hour or until doubled in size.

Punch down the dough, kneading until smooth and roll out onto a lightly floured surface.  I used a piece of parchment instead, challenging for rolling out, but easier for rolling the dough up after.  Roll into a rectangle about 10inX12in.  Brush the dough with melted filling butter, leaving a margin around the edges to seal.  Mix together the brown sugar and cinnamon and sprinkle across dough.  Roll tightly beginning with the longer side of the dough.  I used the parchment paper to help me roll it tightly.  Seal the seam along the roll my pinching it together.  Cut into 12 1-inch thick pieces with a serrated knife and place in greased 9X9 baking pan, cut side up.  Let rise for 30 minutes.  Bake at 350° for 20 ish minutes!

While they’re baking, I didn’t record a recipe for this, but I put a couple of Tbs of butter in a saucepan, and when it bubbled I added a couple Tbs of brown sugar and a bit of vanilla.  Then I added 1/2 cup or so of powdered sugar, and added milk until it was drizzle-able.  Drizzle. Eat. Share. Maybe.

Oh and please.  Spill the milk while you’re photographing your buns.  It’s great. So is hardwood.

And for future reference, nearly falling into michael’s butt means nothing about the change in seasons.  I was referring to the leaves.

10 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Food

10 responses to “Oh baby I’m Fallin’

  1. Oh my gosh! So crazy! I just bought 3 cans of pumpkin and was gearing up for cinnamon buns with pumpkin cream cheese frosting! We are of one mind…or stomach 🙂

    Kara
    http://cookbakeeatlove.wordpress.com

  2. Mom

    I like that you fell into Michael’s butt….bahahahah – I’m sorry – it’s the reptile in me – I laugh when you fall…don’t ever really hurt yourself kay? So, I can keep laughing?

  3. Freya

    Okay, so i am making these right now. As I write, the dough is rising. I had too…
    Also, the house is so desolate without you and Duff-stuff. The worst of it is, the heat, as Tony Horton would say, is back, WITH A VENGENCE! Duff is not lying.

  4. I love pumpkin! I have to try these.. Yum!

  5. Coralie Ullyett

    Neville! My favourite part. These look amazing Britt!

  6. Pingback: Cinnamon pumpkin rolls rock this town « petit pot de beurre

Tell me what you think!

