Today is special – mini vanilla coconut cream scones

It’s Coralie’s birthday.  She’s a best friend.

For sure.

I want to tell you about the 52Xinfinity different reasons why she is one of THE MOST awesome individuals ever to be synthesized from the genetic material of two other individuals ever, but I’m kinda sorta studying right now. I am. I will be.  I am.

I’ll be succinct. (which is one of my best words by the way)

If you ever get the chance to be friends with Coralie Ullyett, take it. Run with it.  Don’t look back.

It’s like you invested in apple in the 80’s.  And you’re freakin rich now.

That’s how I feel.

Best. Return. On. Investment. Ever. (see, I’m studying)

She makes friendships.  I don’t mean like she makes friends, but like she makes the friendship.  You must know what I mean, you must have come across one of these friends before.

I hope you kept them.

They’re the kind of friend who always makes you feel all loved n junk. Like somehow, even though you know their life is busy because they’re probably off saving the world (or environment), they always take time to think about you. And they find a way let you know.  Sometimes it’s a text, an email, a phone call, or even a freaking postcard. Postcards are the bee’s knees.

Magic, these friends.

They’re the ones who teach their friends how to be friends.

I’m both jealous of their friendbilities, and crippling-ly grateful that I wound up on the receiving end. Yes, gratefulness can be crippling. And crippling can be manipulated into the word “crippling-ly”. You saw it.

I’m working on spreading more of this friend magic myself.

Coralie, be prepared. There will be text messages. There will be tweets. There will likely be some random facebook links on your wall.

And there will be birthday scones.

She loves Coconut.

I love (mostly) everything, SO, coconut it is.

These are just sweet enough, tender, and tiny.

I don’t know why miniature things are like a whole other category of thing. These would be just as good if you cut them thicker and wider.  Actually, if I did it again, I’d totally make them bigger. Mini things are just camera whores, so I had to.

Oh and if you haaappen to be sensitive to eggs and dairy. fear not. Eggs and dairy ain’t got nothin on these scones.

Mini Vanilla Coconut Cream Scones

adapted from Mama Pea

  • 1/2 cup kamut flour (or any other whole grain flour)
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut (I pulsed mine finer in the bullet, but you could buy finer shred)
  • 1 cup All Purpose Flour
  • 1 Tbs baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup cold Earth Balance (or other vegan butter)
  • 1/4 cup soy/almond milk
  • 1/4 cup full fat coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • scrapings of 1 vanilla bean (or splash of extract, paste etc)

Glaze:

  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1.5 Tbs coconut milk
  • extra shredded coconut for sprinkling

Preheat oven to 350 and line a baking sheet with parchment.  Mix the first five (dry) ingredients together in a large bowl. Cut in earth balance in little bits, try to mix throughout without warming it.  In an other small bowl, combine final 4 ingredients.  Add the liquid mix to the flour mix until dough just comes together.  Roll out dough on a floured surface until 1.5 inch or so thick. (I made mine thinner and used mini cutouts, but I suggest larger!) Cut into you desired shapes with cutouts, and reshape the leftover dough and do the same.  Mine made 21 or so baby scones, really, really baby scones. Put in the oven for 12-15 minutes depending on scone size.  Bake until just golden around the bottom edges.  Mix the powdered sugar and coconut milk together in a bowl to drizzle on the scones when they pop out. Sprinkle with coconut. EAT.

Maybe I made them mini so that eating four seemed appropriate.

Coralie, I can’t wait to see you. In a week. And also to be your friend for as long as we both shall live. I do?

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

12 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Food, Friends

12 responses to “Today is special – mini vanilla coconut cream scones

  1. Mom

    Awwwww…..awesome post Brit! Corlalie is for sure made of all the good stuff and looks like you made her good stuff! Yum!

  2. Mom

    Oh…you cannot blog and study at the same time – fyi…you might think you can but you can’t. To quote Mathias quoting me “it’s not multitasking just fast switching” and sometimes it isn’t fast…like I hardly think blogging is fast, is it?

    That’s my motherly observation.

  3. Coralie Ullyett

    Britt,

    First, thank-you for taking the time out of your study time to write a blog post for me. LOVE IT!
    Second, does 21 make people all sentimental? Who cries on their birthday? Well, apparently I do when one of my greatest friends writes the most thoughtful and yummy blog post dedicated to me on my birthday. I thought this sentimental stuff happened when you had kids. Guess it came early for me.
    Third, please enjoy those delicious coconut cream scones and share them 🙂 Sharing is caring. That is my motto when baking. I made your pumpkin cinnamon rolls and the next day I woke up to having one left. Guess they were a hit!

    Love & Smiles
    Cor

  4. Beautiful post, beautiful recipe, pictures, and beautiful friendship. -kate

  5. Emily Wale

    I loved this post..it made me tear up a bit! Miss you friends!

  6. Anyone that has a friendship like that is truly blessed & OMG those scones look good enough to eat. I am definitely going to try them out.

    Oh and happy birthday Coralie

  7. These look beautiful! I love your blog 🙂
    Bianca @ Sweet Dreaming

  8. I reeeeeeaaaallly like the look of these scones. You certainly have a way with the camera (and frosting).

  9. Pingback: Cho-Coconut Luna Bars | b out there

Tell me what you think!

